Illinois, also known as the Land of Lincoln, was the twenty-first state to join the Union. It became a state on December 3, 1818. The Land of Lincoln lies in the center of Wisconsin, Iowa, Missouri, Kentucky, Indiana, and Lake Michigan.

Chicago is the biggest city with nearly three million people. About nine and half million people live in the greater Chicago area.

State BirdCardinal
State FlowerPurple Violet
State TreeWhite Oak
  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Northwestern University
  • Illinois State University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • DePaul University
  • Western Illinois University
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • University of Chicago
Sports Teams
  • Chicago Fire
  • Chicago Cubs
  • Chicago White Sox
  • Chicago Bears
  • Chicago Blackhawks
  • Chicago Bulls